ISO 22000:2018, the new version of international standard for food safety management systems, was released on June 19, 2018. It will bring significant changes for certified organizations. As one of the leading certification bodies for ISO 22000, DQS informs our clients on the primary changes to the new version.

According to the latest ISO Survey, more than 32,000 organizations in the food supply chain currently hold a valid ISO 22000 certificate. Since the first publication of ISO 22000 in 2005, the organizations choosing to implement a food safety management system in accordance with the ISO 22000 standard has grown steadily each year.

During those years, however, users along the supply chain have not only learned a lot about food safety, but have also been confronted with new challenges. This created a need for a full revision of the standard.


With the revision, the International Organization for Standardization aims to:

  • Clarify key concepts that have caused confusion, such as Critical Control Points (CCPs), Operational Prerequisite Programmes (OPRPs) and Prerequisite Programmes (PRPs).
  • Improve the readability and usability of the standard
  • Ensure the standard is relevant to all actors in the food supply chain
  • Ensure the standard suits the needs of SMEs
  • Increase the compatibility of ISO 22000 with other management system standards, by adopting a common structure and terminology

Transition Period

After the publication of the new standard, a 3-year transition period is expected for certified sites. It’s anticipated that the organization currently certified to ISO 22000:2005 shall complete the transition to ISO 22000:2018 before June 19, 2021.

For those that have not only implemented ISO 22000, but are also certified to FSSC 22000, it is worth keeping mind that the new Version 4 came  into effect on January 1, 2018.

ISO 22000:2018 – Primary Changes

The new version will contain a large number of minor changes that have been introduced to increase the readability and clarity of the standard. In practice, the large majority of these changes will have little if any repercussions for the actual implementation of the standard. Still, based on the current draft, the revision will also introduce a number of changes that are more structural in nature:

  • The new version will adopt the so-called High-Level Structure (HLS), the common structure for all new management system standards. The adoption of a common structure throughout all standards facilitates the integration of various management systems. Users of ISO 9001:2015ISO 14001:2015 and ISO 45001 will already be familiar with this structure. In practice, the change in structure will make it easier for organizations to combine ISO 22000 with the other standards mentioned above.
  • In accordance with the changes in ISO 9001:2015 and ISO 14001:2015, the new version of ISO 22000 will also be a risk-based standard. The standard will distinguish between risk at the operational level l (through the Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point approach (HACCP)), as well at the strategic level of the management system and its ability to reach its specified goals as such.
  • The standard now consistently distinguishes two Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) cycles. The first applies to the management system as a whole, while the second, within it, addresses the operations described in Clause 8, which simultaneously cover the HACCP principles. This is illustrated in the figure below.


Feel free to contact us for more information about the certification or training courses related to ISO 22000:2018.


Referenced Source: DQS CFS